Green Ribbon Environmental Committee

The Green Ribbon Environmental Committee seeks to increase public participation in energy conservation and sustainable practices, helping the City serve the community through advancing environmental policy initiatives and programs. The Committee is supported by the Public Works and Transportation Department. It advises City Council on matters related to climate protection, energy, recycling, waste management, sustainability, transportation, and water, as well as environmental and energy goals that are stated in the General Plan and related documents.

The Committee meets every other month, or as needed, at 4:30 p.m. in the Conference and Training Center (CTC) located at Irvine City Hall, 1 Civic Center Plaza. View meeting agendas and minutes here

Meeting Dates for 2023

  • February 8
  • April 12
  • June 14 - CANCELED
  • August 9  
  • October 11 
  • December 13

Committee Members

  • Chair Senait Forthal (Appointed by Mayor Farrah N. Khan)
  • Vice Chair Dr. Steven Allison (Appointed by Vice Mayor Tammy Kim)
  • Dr. Kevork Abazajian (Appointed by Councilmember Larry Agran)
  • Katherine Chang (Student Member-at-large, appointed by City Council)
  • Matthew Chang (Student Member-at-large, appointed by City Council)
  • Ayn Craciun (Appointed by Councilmember Dr. Kathleen Treseder)
  • Stephen Huang (PC Chair Pro Tem, appointed by Planning Commission)
  • Farrah N. Khan (Mayor, appointed by City Council)
  • Rajat Khurana (Appointed by Councilmember Mike Carroll)
  • Dr. Oladele Ogunseitan (Member-at-large, appointed by City Council)
  • Dr. Kathleen Treseder (City Councilmember, appointed by City Council)