Green Ribbon Environmental Committee

The Green Ribbon Environmental Committee seeks to increase public participation in energy conservation and sustainable practices, helping the City serve the community through advancing environmental policy initiatives and programs. The Committee is supported by the Public Works Department. It advises the City Council on matters related to climate protection, energy, recycling and waste management, sustainability, transportation, and water, as well as environmental and energy goals that are stated in the General Plan and related documents.

The Committee meets quarterly on the second Monday of the appropriate month, or as needed, at 4:30 p.m. at Irvine City Hall. View meeting agendas and minutes here

Meeting Dates for 2020:

  • March 9 CANCELED
  • May 11
  • August 10
  • November 9

Committee members:

  • Chair Farrah N. Khan (Councilmember, appointed by City Council)
  • Vice Chair Kathleen Treseder (Member-at-large, appointed by City Council)
  • Bemmy Maharramli (Member-at-large, appointed by City Council)
  • Charlie Choi (Appointed by Mayor Christina L. Shea)
  • Dustin Nirschl (Planning Commissioner, appointed by Planning Commission)
  • Senait Forthal (Appointed by Councilmember Farrah N. Khan)
  • Melissa Fox (Councilmember, appointed by City Council)
  • Michael Genest (Appointed by Councilmember Michael Carroll)
  • Richard Prince (Appointed by Councilmember Melissa Fox)
  • William Von Blasingame (Appointed by Councilmember Anthony Kuo)