Division of Legislative Affairs

The City of Irvine Legislative Affairs Program maintains a continuous, prompt, and transparent system for bringing new legislative information and pursuing grant opportunities. The Program provides a means to advance and protect the City’s interests on issues at the federal and state levels. The Program includes dedicated staff members, an ad hoc City Council subcommittee, and development of the City’s short- and long-term legislative and funding priorities based on Council direction.

Positions on pending legislation impacting Irvine may be taken based on the priorities established by the City Council in the Legislative Platform, with further action directed by subcommittee members and supported by legislative advocates. The ad hoc subcommittee for calendar year 2024 was selected during the City’s annual appointment process in January 2024 and is comprised of Mayor Farrah N. Khan and Vice Mayor Larry Agran.