News Release

City of Irvine
Public Information Office

1 Civic Center Plaza
Irvine, CA 92606



Public Information Office

City of Irvine Adds 23 Names to the Wall of Recognition

The City of Irvine honored 23 individuals and organizations whose names have been added to the Wall of Recognition, acknowledging their significant contributions to the community, during a ceremony Tuesday, June 11.
The honorees joined a select group of more than 420 individuals and organizations whose names have been added to the Wall of Recognition since it was established in 2006 at Colonel Bill Barber Marine Corps Memorial Park.
“At the heart of our vibrant community are the people who live and work in Irvine,” said Mayor Farrah N. Khan. “The outstanding leadership and unwavering commitment to Irvine that each of these honorees demonstrate are an important part of what makes our City truly special. I am grateful to them for all they do to enhance our community.”
The Wall of Recognition honors individuals, groups, organizations, and businesses who have made significant contributions to the community and continue building upon the foundation of excellence for future generations. They are elected officials; city leaders; organizations and businesses that contribute to the betterment of our City; or individuals who bring something unique to Irvine as the first to undertake a position, task, or industry of significance to the community.
The following were recognized as 2024 honorees:
Perpetual Plaque Honorees
  • Irvine City Councilmember Kathleen Treseder, PhD
  • Irvine Unified School District Board Member Dr. Jeffrey Soo Kim
  • Irvine Unified School District Board Member Katie McEwen


Community Partners
  • Ektaa Center
  • Second Harvest Food Bank


Roots of our Community
  • Matthew Chang
  • Harm Reduction Circle
  • Irvine Historical Society and Museum


Distinguished Citizens
  • Jerry Hsuntseng Chang
  • Mike C. Chen
  • Dr. Dina Eletreby
  • Hani Adam Habbas
  • Vicki Harris
  • Jerry E. Mandel
  • Keith L. Nelson, In Memoriam
  • Spencer C. Olin
  • Douglas W. Reigle
  • Richard Robert
  • Susan Sayre
  • Mitsuye Yamada


Civic Leaders
  • Irvine Police Chief Michael “Walid” Kent
  • Walter D. Kreutzen, Jr.
  • Rachel Owens


Community members were invited to submit nominations for the Wall of Recognition between November 1 and December 30, 2023. To be eligible for consideration, individual nominees must be or have been someone who has lived, been employed, or attended school within the City of Irvine. Groups, businesses, and organizations must be or have been located in Irvine.
For more information, visit