Youth Services Unit

The School Resources Officers and D.A.R.E. Officers work in partnership with the Irvine and Tustin Unified School Districts. 

School Resource Officers are sworn Police Officers assigned to school sites to act as a resource for students, parents and school administration. Through enforcement of the law and education on many topics, the School Resource Officers are a direct link between Irvine youth community and the Irvine Police Department.

 D.A.R.E.

The Irvine Police D.A.R.E. Officers are selected members of the Department who are given no less than 80 hours of special training in the subjects of child development, classroom management, teaching techniques, and communications skills. Coupled with their experience in the field, D.A.R.E. Officers use their training to provide students education in areas such as:

Pedestrian Safety
Risks & Consequences
Drug/ Vape/ Alcohol Awareness
Peer Pressure
Working As Allies
Communication Skills
Digital Citizenship & Bullying
Empathy
Helping Others
Stress Management & Getting Help

Originally developed in 1983, Drug Abuse Resistance Education (D.A.R.E.) is a program presented to elementary school students and is aimed at preventing the use of controlled substances, membership in gangs, and violent behavior. The subject matter in the program is taught by sworn police officers during regular school hours in a lecture presentation format using PowerPoint, videos, and demonstrations.

Additional resources and information about the D.A.R.E. program can be found at www.dare.org.

YOUTH SERVICES MANAGER:

Lieutenant Bill Bingham
949-724-7117 | bbingham@cityofirvine.org

YOUTH SERVICES SUPERVISOR:

Sergeant Tim Petropulos
949-724-7216 | tpetropulos@cityofirvine.org

SCHOOL RESOURCE OFFICERS:

Officer Tanya Ayalde
Northwood High School / Crean Lutheran High School
Jeffrey Trail Middle School / Sierra Vista Middle School
949-724-7181 | tayalde@cityofirvine.org

Officer Clarissa Funaki
Woodbridge High School
Lakeside Middle School
949-724-7275 | cfunaki@cityofirvine.org

Officer Alex Ghilarducci
Creekside High School
South Lake Middle School
Plaza Vista School (K-8)
949-724-7050 | aghilarducchi@cityofirvine.org

Officer Melissa Porter
Portola High School / Crean Lutheran High School
Beacon Park School (K-8) / Cadence Park School (K-8)
949-724-7058 | mporter@cityofirvine.org

Officer Crystal Soria
University High School
Rancho San Joaquin Middle School
Vista Verde School (K-8)
949-724-7251 | csoria@cityofirvine.org

Officer Erin Brennan
Irvine High School
Venado Middle School
949-724-7239 | ebrennan@cityofirvine.org

Officer Jose Ayala
Beckman High School
Orchard Hills School (K-8)
949-724-7184 | jayala@cityofirvine.org

MIDDLE SCHOOL RESOURCE OFFICER:

          Officer Russell Ziino 
          Serves all Irvine middle schools 
          949-724-6110 | rziino@cityofirvine.org

D.A.R.E. OFFICERS:

Officer Amanda Shaffer

Serves: 

  • Brywood
  • Canyon View
  • College Park
  • Eastshore
  • Hicks Canyon
  • Myford
  • Northwood
  • Orchard Hills
  • Plaza Vista
  • 949-724-7185 | ashaffer@cityofirvine.org

Mathew Aragon
Serves:

  • Alderwood
  • Bonita Canyon
  • Cypress Village
  • Deerfield
  • Meadow Park
  • Oak Creek
  • Santiago Hills
  • Woodbury

949-724-7184 | maragon@cityofirvine.org

Officer Hillary Ahluwalia
Serves:

  • Westpark
  • Springbrook
  • Stone Creek
  • Turtle Rock
  • Greentree
  • University Park
  • Culverdale

949-724-7186 | hbrown@cityofirvine.org

Officer Alex Mendoza
Serves:

  • Beacon Park
  • Cadence Park
  • Eastwood
  • Loma Ridge
  • Portola Springs
  • Solis Park 
  • Stonegate
  • Vista Verde

949-724-7252 | amendoza@cityofirvine.org

Links

National Association of School Resource Officers
Irvine Unified School District