On September 10, the Irvine City Council voted to establish an Ad Hoc committee, the Safe Community Task Force 2020 (Task Force). The Task Force will work for nine months, toward the goal of ensuring Irvine remains a safe city for residents and visitors. The Task Force will gather information from community stakeholders; examine incidents that have occurred in other communities; and raise awareness, and prevention efforts.

The Task Force will be comprised of nine members with Mayor Shea and Vice Mayor Carroll serving as co-chairs.

Please note: The Safe Community Task Force meetings have been placed on hold until further notice.