City of Irvine Swears in Newly Elected Mayor and City Councilmembers

Tuesday, December 8, 2020

The City of Irvine swore-in the newly-elected Mayor and City Councilmembers Tuesday, December 8. The ceremony included Mayor Farrah N. Khan, Councilmember Mike Carroll, Councilmember Tammy Kim, and Councilmember Larry Agran.

During the swearing-in ceremony, Mayor Khan announced the Council’s first initiatives of 2021.

A task force comprised of local health officials will be developed to help navigate and advise the City Council on COVID-19. This will ensure the safety of Irvine residents is at the forefront of Council decisions.

Additionally, 2021 marks the City of Irvine’s 50th anniversary. In order to celebrate the City’s past and chart the course forward, a 50-50 initiative was announced. This will lay the foundation for generations of Irvine residents to come.

The swearing-in ceremony is available to view on the City’s Facebook and YouTube pages, as well as here.

Download photos from the Swearing-In Ceremony here

The City Council Meeting followed at 4 p.m.  Councilmember Tammy Kim was elected Vice Mayor. The meeting can be viewed on ICTV at